The site of the Santa Creu d’Olorda chapel, which takes its name from the nearby peak of Puig d’Olorda, invites you to take part in all kinds of outdoor leisure activities and to discover the architectural and cultural heritage of the park. In addition to walking, admiring the views, hiking, and discovering the site’s flora and fauna and getting away from the city, a visit to the church can represent a true lesson in art history.
The earliest information we have about the founding of Santa Creu d’Olorda dates back to the 9th century. The complex consisted of the chapel, cemetery, rectory and a castle. The apse and nave of the original church were built in the 9th century, and other elements were subsequently added and modified. The church was burned down in 1936 at the outbreak of the Civil War and it was later restored by the hiking group, Els Blaus de Sarrià.
For a short period there was a castle beside the church, but it is no longer there. It was built during the 14th century and belonged to King Peter of Aragon, who sold it. Unfortunately, documents from 1430 already mention it as a rundown, half-abandoned building. Other sites of interest in this area include the Torre del Bisbe (Bishop’s Tower) and the Font de Santa Margarita (Saint Margaret’s Fountain).